Rent Frock Repeat: Review & Discount Code!

A few weeks ago I posted an interview featuring Canadian company, Rent Frock Repeat, that allows women to ‘release their inner runway’ by renting high-end designer dresses for special occasions.  For a wedding this past weekend, I had a chance to rent a fabulous frock and try this service out.

via tibi.com

This was the fun and flirty jacquard Tibi navy/bronze dress I rented.  The courier arrived exactly when they said they would and I excitedly ripped open my package to try on my frock.  One amazing aspect of the website is that they allow you to rent 2 of the same dress in two different sizes (second dress is free) so that you can ensure you get the correct size.  Unfortunately for me – the sizing just didn’t work out despite the two dresses I had!  The measurements on the website were correct – it was actually a fluke that I had been losing some extra poundage courtesy of running around after H all day/night.  Combine that with a strapless design and you have the dreaded scenario of constantly pulling up your dress all night!

I got the best possible customer service when I spoke to Lisa – she rushed over a variety of dresses for me that same evening so that I would definitely be able to find something.  I really felt the owners care about each and every customer and want to see them happy in a dress that flatters them, fits well and makes them sparkle!

Brand: Rent Frock Repeat

MSRP:  Varies depending on dress

Key Features:  

– Choose from top designer dresses to rent for either a 4 or 8 day period

– Professional dry-cleaning (Creeds), courier service and return paid postage included

– Dress inventory updated often (at least every season)

I Love It Because:  Aside from the most excellent customer service I’ve received in forever, I truly found the entire RFR experience to be easy, quick, convenient but mostly – FUN!  ‘Shopping’ the frocks online was awesome and made it very easy to figure out what I was looking for since they use models of different shapes and sizes.  Another great thing I loved was that each dress was styled in a variety of ways so that you could get ideas for how you would wear your dress based on accessories you already own.  Included was this super cute Thank You note along with a care package with some useful Night Out treats:

Also handy was the above checklist which let you know that your dress had been inspected and how to care for it.  The dress that I did end up going with was an absolute hit!  A blush pink Peter Soronen (who dresses none other than Michelle Obama BTW 😉 it was a sexy, short and sassy number that normally would not have been on my radar at all.  However, the beauty of this website is that you can feel confident trying out something you perhaps wouldn’t be drawn to since the whole element of ‘dress up’ has been taken up a notch.  It surely helps that this dress which regularly retails for $1695, rents out for $250 – you can feel like a superstar for a night even if you’re on a much smaller budget.  Hubby managed to snap a photo right before we headed out…(of course, H was having his first epic meltdown in forever, the cab had arrived, I couldn’t find my clutch and something was burning in the oven…no joke!):

But I Wish It Had:  As far as the service, ease of the website and selection and quality of dresses available I would have to say RFR is lacking in nothing!  However, my one wish is that they invest in some edgier, more fashion forward pieces.  I was able to find plenty to choose from for a fun night out as ‘Glam Me’ ‘Sexy Me’ and ‘Girly Me’  but if I were to use this service more often (and with weddings stacking up quickly already for 2012 it would make sense!) I would love to have some dresses that reflect my own personal style a bit more.  Also, having a tiered membership with added extra benefits or bonus treats where you could stack up Free rentals after renting 5, 10 or 20 dresses or some similar feature would be a great incentive!

So, Reco or No?  YES all the way.  I was pleasantly surprised by how vehemently I was recommending RFR to everyone who complimented me on the dress that night!  Being an avid dress shopper and owning gorgeous frocks of my own I really wasn’t sure how I would feel about having to send back the dress I rented.  Or even renting a garment that somebody else has worn already for that matter.  But from the crisp, clean and (super important to my sensitive nose) scent-free dresses that were couriered to me to the tons of compliments I got for wearing something I perhaps wouldn’t buy….can’t really say anything but YES!! I guess flattery DOES get you somewhere 😉  For this Holiday season why reuse the same ole LBD when you can dazzle and shine in something new and gorgeous instead?

DISCOUNT TIME! Wanna try it for yourself?  If you haven’t already taken advantage, Rent Frock Repeat is offering readers 15% off their first rental until Nov 30th use STYLNMOM.  You can reserve a dress for an event up to 4 months down the line using this code.

Happy Dress Renting!ax

3 Responses to “Rent Frock Repeat: Review & Discount Code!”

  1. Sounds like such a cool site and good to hear about your experience. You look AMAZING in the dress and I can see why u got compliments all night! This might be handy for the 7 weddings we have (so far) next year 🙂

  2. Oh wow! Beautiful dresses… Will definitely look into using their service :))

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

