Purdy’s Chocolates: Review & Giveaway!

When I was given the opportunity from my friends at Purdy’s to review some chocolates I had to really think about it hard…Just kidding!  I’m a lover of all foods, sweets and savouries but I do have a special place in my heart (ahem…tummy) for chocolate.

Things that make you go MMMM

Purdy’s chocolates are all crafted with care in the Purdy’s Chocolate Factory Kitchen which is located in Canada’s own Vancouver, BC!  So take that, Belgium! Not all premium chocs need arrive from Europe 🙂  I was given a ‘chocolate tasting guide’ which I actually did find handy so before beginning I managed to cram some saltines iton my eager gob so as to cleanse the palate and did so between tasting each different type of choc.

Brand: Purdy’s Chocolates – Turona, Sweet Georgia Browns, Hedgehogs and English Toffee

MSRP:  ranges

Key Features:  

– Premium quality chocolates produced in Canada

– Member of the World Cocoa Foundation which supports sustainable cocoa farming

-Canadian owned and family operated business

I Love It Because:  I started off with the newest chocolate from Purdy’s, the Turona.

Lonely....I am so lonely....

As you can see…This was the sole survivor of a massive surprise attack from Hubby.  I had mentioned I was going to review the Purdy’s package but he claims he had a choco-blackout and when he arose, this was all that was left!  I got over my ire once I tasted the Turona.   The chocolate was much creamier than I expected since it looked on the surface to be some sort of hard dark chocolate that would be chewy.  Instead I was treated to a dreamy puree of almond and hazelnut wrapped in a gorgeous French pastry flake.  One word – TODIEFOR.

nom nom

Alrighty onto the next…the Sweet Georgia Browns were also delish however I have to say – they were somewhat of a letdown after tasting the Turona!  However, not to sell them short – if you enjoy nutty, caramelly, chewy goodness in a large chocolate format (I was getting full!) then these are your pick!

The good ole Hedgehogs are everything you want in a simple chocolate:  lovely subtly sweet flavour, smooth texture and bite sized morsels that are (too) easy to eat.  Devoured these in a shamefully short amount of time.

The English Toffee was not pretty to look at, to be honest!  It actually took me awhile to get around to tasting this one because I just didn’t find it visually appealing.  I mean, I didn’t even take a very nice photo of it did I? Boy was I surprised when I bit into it!  I’m not the biggest toffee lover (hate stuff sticking to my teeth) but this one was crispy-crunchy with a velvety taste and texture!  Surprisingly, the toffee bumped Hedgehog into third place for me!

But I Wish It Had:  Really, all I could ask for of Purdy’s was MORE. These chocolates are just divine and would make a perfect gift for me anybody.

So, Reco or No?  YES YES YES. Go out right now and get yourself some Purdy’s if you want to bring an insta-smile to your face (and your tastebuds!)

GIVEAWAY TIME! Wanna win a yummy Purdy’s prize? Purdy’s has offered to send the Winner my favourite pick (Turonas!)  To enter simply follow the instructions below:  Entries accepted until Tue October 11th 2011.

#1 – ‘Like’ the Purdy’s Chocolates Facebook page here  AND the StylnMommy page here  leave comment at the bottom of this post letting me know you’ve done this *mandatory entry*

#2 – Follow Purdy’s Chocolates on Twitter @purdyschocolate and Tweet ” @Purdyschocolate #IWant2WINPurdysfav@Stylnmommy ” *extra entry* and leave a comment here to let me know

#3 – Follow StylnMommy on Twitter here *extra entry* and leave a comment here to let me know

Good Luck! UPDATE:  WINNER CHOSEN BY RANDOM.ORG IS TABITHA PYE – CONGRATS!

This Contest is open to Canadian Residents only. I was not compensated for this post and all views and opinions are my own.

Thanks!

37 Responses to “Purdy’s Chocolates: Review & Giveaway!”

  1. Visiting from the giveaway linky. Feel free to come over to Mom Blog Society and add your giveaway! Our members love giveaways!
    http://momblogsociety.com

  2. also gypsygreenz on twitter & Lexia Joy Nash on fb, ps. thanks for the chance at metrotown shop till you drop, I didn’t win but had a great time 🙂

  3. I like Stylinmommy on facebook & twitter same with purdy’s (fb & twitter) plus tweeted the giveaway!!! PS. I LOVE Your Chocolates & my kiddies do too 🙂 xo

  4. All complete! @SugarChicTreat on twitter! Follow me too!

  5. Stylnmommy Twitter follower @604jenn

  6. followed @StylnMommy on twitter @ magemadness

  7. following stylingmommy on twitter MrDisco3

  8. I liked Purdy’s Chocolates and StylnMommy on Facebook! Linda D 🙂

  9. following both on twitter and tweeted:

    @mrdisco3

  10. Liked on facebook (both stylinmommy and purdy’s) (paresh P)

  11. I liked both pages. Jeremy Liao

  12. Liked both Facebook pages! (Jennifer Margaret)

  13. I also tweeted @Purdyschocolate #IWant2WINPurdysfav@Stylnmommy ”

    Check it out at @RDevineMakeup – On Oct 8

  14. I liked you both on facebook!!

  15. I already followed you both on Twitter

  16. I follow you on twitter as edmontonjb

  17. I like you both on facebook as Jb Hartling

  18. Now following you on twitter as well 🙂

  19. Following Purdy’s and tweeted:

  20. I have liked both Purdy’s Chocolate and your Facebook Page (Tabitha Pye)

  21. I already follow you on twitter! @TOBeautyReviews 🙂

  22. I follow you both on FB: Toronto Beauty Reviews

  23. Already following @stylnmommy on twitter (@alfalou)

  24. Following @purdyschocolates on twitter and tweeted above msg. (@alfalou)

  25. ‘Liked’ Purdy’s Chocolates and StylnMommy on Facebook.
    Alfa Jacob

  26. I follow StylnMommy on Twitter (@loucheryl)

  27. I ‘Like’ the Purdy’s Chocolates and StylnMommy Facebook page (Cheryl A-M)

  28. Following StylnMommy on twitter @Mystee007

  29. Following Purdy’s Chocolates on twitter and tweeted about the giveaway! http://twitter.com/#!/Mystee007/status/121285634563375104

  30. I liked Purdy’s Chocolates and StylnMommy on Facebook!
    Gamermom007(at)yahoo(dot)ca

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

