Interview with Babiekinsmag.com

All images courtesy of babiekinsmag.com

 

A very exciting part of being a mom for me is kids’ fashion these days.  I mean, sure, seeing the first tooth pop out can be sorta a big deal but what about gaucho pants for infants?! *I kid!*

So it is with extreme excitement that I was able to interview the editor for my favourite online kids’s style mag, Priscila Barros of Babiekinsmag.com.  For me this magazine is the perfect example of marrying style with fantasy and playfulness.  There is nothing worse than seeing child models gussied up to look like mini adults – you won’t see that here in Babiekins.  Instead, the fashion spreads feature gorgeous clothes on super cute kidlets who still look like kids!  They look stylish, happy and like they’re having a great ole time.

 What inspired you to start Babiekins magazine?
I am a mother of 2 young boys and I just felt like there weren’t enough “high fashion” resources for kids or one place to find it all. As a mom I don’t have loads of free time to skip around a million blogs or websites to find beautiful and “new” items for my kids and so I though busy mothers would appreciate a styled magazine with beautiful editorials and a list of must haves all in one place.
Tell us about your own style and your childrens’ style.
My style: Its funny  because now that I am a mom I have toned it down a lot. Before you would see me in wedges all day long and now I have traded those for some havaianas which are more practical when Im chasing after my active kids! I also love to thrift. You can often find me with a thrifted top paired with designer jeans. I also carry this into my childrens wardrobe and through out the magazine. It just doesn’t make sense to buy a $50 top for your 3 year old and then pair it with more designer items. It’s not only expensive but in my mind- ridiculous! Bringing vintage and thrifted finds into a wardrobe adds a little bit of personality to an outfit and I think in the end makes a trendsetter unique!
Brands I love for my kids are Mini and Maximus (http://miniandmaximus.com/)- they are super quirky and I LOVE any thing quirky for kids
Bobo choses- who is a popular brand out of Barcelona (Bobo Choses)
and Imps and Elfs! (http://www.imps-elfs.nl/)
Oftentimes as moms (especially new moms) we find it a challenge to even get our buttons done up correctly! Any tips for how to remain stylish while being a busy parent?
Oh MAN! I think the key is to remember that your a new mom! Don’t put pressure on yourself to dress a certain way especially when you are exhausted after waking up every 2 hours to feed your newborn. I found it really key in my wardrobe to have some simple items.
-White tshirt (get one that is a little longer)
These are easy to dress up and down! add a nice chuncky vintage necklace to it and a jacket , skinny jeans and heals and you have a nice outfit to go out in.
-If its long enough ad a belt and some boots and you got a cute little summer dress
-Or just wear it with some comfy slacks for around the house!
What are your favourite places to shop for your babiekins?
I have 3 shops I find myself going to always!
Mash N Gravy who is owned by one of the sweets most genuine people I know and she is also a mother to 2 adorable boys! 🙂mashngravy.com
I love little fashion gallery because they carry the best brands all in one place. littlefashiongallery.com
I also love the new shop kidsme.es
What would you never dress your child in and why?
I actually have never put jeans on my kids. They are just so active and I think kids need to be comfortable in anything they wear. I dress them in a lot of popupshop pants and pants and shorts from imps and Elfs just because they are SO amazingly made and moveable! Its important to dress them in clothes that move because my boys are always running outside or climbing trees.
White also is something I like to avoid for obvious reasons! 🙂
Do you remember a favourite outfit of yours growing up? 
I had these very cute pink and very 80’s (haha) jumpersuit I use to wear when I was little. It kinda reminded me of the picture in the current issue on page 195and196 on Forever Blue
What are your hopes for the future of Babiekins magazine?
I feel like now we are kinda at a crossroads. We have so many designers and internationally known people and business contacting us in hopes of being in the magazine its just amazing. I just can’t really imagine what is coming next. We would love to make the magazine in a a couple different languages and see it in print and in some boutiques. We have a lot of fun and exciting things coming up in the next year so I guess we will see.
Thanks to Priscila for an awesome interview and for shedding some insight into how she keeps herself and her babiekins well-clad.
Keep your eyes peeled on the mag’s November issue for their Second Annual Cover Contest!
Check out the magazine and let me know your thoughts!
Leave a Reply

