Tarte for True Blood

Pretty case and instruction booklet

inside the instruction booklet

oooh colouring time!

slide out drawer with primer, eyeliner & mascara

Brand:  Tarte Cosmetics

MSRP: $68 CDN (retail value of $331 USD if sold separately)

Key Features: 17 full sized eyeshadows, 1 eyeshadow primer, 1 black mascara, 1 black gel eyeliner

before makeup and before coffee...deadly combo

ah....that's much better! Coffee in hand & face on

I Love It Because:  Well first of all, I’m a makeup junkie!  Especially eye makeup.  Give me a good dark eyeliner/shadow anyday and I’m good to go.  Which is a good thing because since becoming a mom, the dark shadow goes well with the dark circles under my eyes 🙂  I’ve tried a bajillion different brands of eyeshadow and since trying Tarte a few years ago I’ve become an avid fan of their shadows.  The texture is nice and velvety with lots of deep pigmentation so you don’t have to use a ton of the stuff.

The application was terrific as always and the handy instruction booklet was actually put to use!  I decided to try the Not Your Average Waitress for an everyday look with a bit of ‘pow’.  It took less than 5 minutes which I love since I’m pressed for time these days.

The eyeliner went on smoothly and felt nice and cool to the skin.  I didn’t have a problem with tearing up under the eye but this could be because I’m used to using eyeliner.

Each and every colour will be used – unlike many other palettes where they throw in a couple of juicy colours and then you have a bunch of duds!

But I Wish It Had:  Would have been lovely if it came with some brushes and one or two lip colours or a gloss.  The mascara wasn’t the greatest but will do in a pinch if you don’t have anything else around.

So, Reco or No? :  Well, I know I’ve been on a bit of a ‘yes’ kick lately but I’m not breaking that trend here because this palette is simply awesome.  If you are into dark and dramatic colours even for your everyday look then I would strongly reco hitting up your closest Sephora and snagging one of these bad boys up.  I do enjoy that it is a very portable size for travelling too. Vamp it up ladies!

Leave a Reply

