Delirious with Daycare Dilemma

Baby H is confused too

Not really delirious but a little illiteration never hurt anybody.

Baby H is now 7.5 months old…and so the discussions of going back to work, putting him in daycare, doing part-time of both, or being a SAHM have surfaced.

First of all, ‘going back to work’ for me means finding a job and a new career.  After spending the last 7 years running my own business (with trusty partner V) and then selling said business earlier this year, it will be a completely fresh start for moi.  This in itself is a daunting but utterly exciting prospect.  There are so many possibilities running through my head and I definitely feel lucky to be in such a unique position at this point in my life.

That being said, being at home with Baby H has been simply awesome.  Watching him grow and learn something new, literally every day, has been totally amazing.  Seeing his personality blossom into the combination of super sweet, cuddly, and thoroughly mischievious has been a total trip and I wouldn’t have traded this time for anything.

So the next step is to figure out what it is that I want – so much easier said than done. One day I feel like I definitely want to get back into the working world and flex my brain a bit more.  The next I am content to embrace my role as mommy since I know this time only comes around once in a child’s life.

Hubby and I (and Baby H) went to check out a daycare nearby and it was pretty much all we could ask for.  And with Baby H’s strong personality I don’t really feel worried about leaving him per say – he’s pretty independent and vocal about what he wants.  Now its more about figuring out what I’d like to do – and when you’re used to putting somebody else’s needs and wants ahead of your own (cue crying babe here) it’s a bit of an adjustment to go back to examining what YOU need and want.

What did you mamas out there do? Go back to work? Become a full time SAHM?  A combo of both?

Would love to hear!

Happy Hump Day 😉

2 Trackbacks to “Delirious with Daycare Dilemma”

Leave a Reply

