Mama Might Need Autotune

Off we go to sing our hearts out

To kickstart our spring activities, I initially enrolled in a Mommy & Baby fitness class.   After speaking with a girlfriend of mine who had taken the class, my apprehension at spraining something better judgement made me cancel.  She described one of the exercises – ‘The Circle of life’ whereupon one takes their babe in their arms, holding them straight out across their chest and moves them in a circle repeatedly.  I tried this with Baby H and…let’s just say the ‘Circle of life’ became a crazy shaking octagon.  Clearly this class was made for superstrong women with smaller babies 😉

Since I get most of my fitness from daily play with Baby H, I wasn’t really heartbroken about cancelling.  The goal is more for him to have some fun social time with other babies as opposed to me getting my sweat on and so my search for fun activities continued.

Which led us to baby music classes.  We have our daily afternoon sing/dance party sessions at home anyways so may as well do it with other babies around.

Today was our first class and boy did he love it!  Between the singing, the musical instruments, the dancing and the parachute at the end – he was havin’ a great ole time.  As for me, I actually didn’t mind the singing as much as I thought I would. I mean, we sing at home all the time and I know my voice sucks so I am fine with the public knowing too.  However, as some of the other mums warbled along in perfect pitch I felt I had to make up for my meagre singing skills by just being loud and singing with gusto. I think we pulled it off and H’s cackling laughter made me feel pretty darn good about my efforts.

It’s Earth week so the songs were all about the sun, rain, earth etc.

A great time had by all.  Loved that the group wasn’t too big too so he had a lot of time to play around with the other babies.

Oh yes…it was also my first time being mistaken for the nanny but I’m sure it won’t be the last 😉

image courtesy of rainbowsongs.com

4 Responses to “Mama Might Need Autotune”

  1. Glad you guys had a good time! And my fear of singing in public has disappeared too since having a babe…I find myself singing out loud everywhere now like a crazy lady.

  2. awww looks so fun! he looks so happy 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

